1. components of the psychophysical personality, on which beings commonly impute
    the false notion of self. There are five aggregates, each based on the previous one: Form , Feelings, Discriminations, Consciousness, Compositional Factors
  2. the doctrine of “No-Self” or “No-Soul”. One of the three marks of existence, along with dukkha
    ‘suffering’ and anitya/anicca ‘impermanence’
  3. a person who has destroyed the mental defilements (the three poisons) through the teaching of a Buddha and becomes liberated from samsara
  4. Literally “Entering the Path of Enlightenment,” sometimes
    called “A Guide to the Bodhisattva’s Way of Life.” Written by Shantideva during the 8th century CE.
  5. literally ‘the mind of Awakening,’ the altruistic intention to achieve awakening in order to benefit all other beings. Consists of two types, aspiring and actually engaging.
  6. literally ‘awakening being,’ one who has generated bodhicitta and seeks awakening for the benefits of others. The Bodhisattva or Bodhisatta refers to the Buddha before his Awakening.
  7. To which stage of Buddhism does each ideal belong?
    bodhisattva versus arhat ideal
  8. necessary aspects for a bodhisattva to attain enlightenment: Form Body and Reality Body.
    bodies of the Buddha, two
  9. the actual physical body of a Buddha, created through the accumulation of merit
    Form Body
  10. collection of virtues and qualities, created
    through the accumulation of Wisdom
    Reality Body( lit Dharma Body)
  11. Siddhārtha Gautama at birth, who is credited
    with establishing the Buddhist doctrine (Dharma)
    in the present era
  12. calming and stabilizing the mind and cultivating
    positive emotions such as compassion. Necessary for enlightenment.
    calm meditation
  13. (sometimes called interdependent origination)
    The process of causation, in which all phenomena are created, sustained, and pass in dependence on causes and conditions. It is composed of the 12 links
    dependent origination
  14. the teaching and practice of Buddhism. Compare
    with dharma in Hinduism.
  15. Gandhi’s analysis of individuals consists of: body, manas, atman, swabhava
    Dimensions of Human Beings, Four.
  16. Four Noble Truths, compoased of: Wisdom, Ethical Conduct, Mental Discipline or Concentration, Exchange of Self or Other
    Eightfold path
  17. Right view and right intention
  18. Right speech. right action, right livelihood
    Ethical Conduct
  19. Right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration
    Mental Discipline or Concentration
  20. a form of meditation to develop bodhicitta that
    focuses on the fact that all beings suffer in the same way that we do. This is the most distinctive form of meditation found in the Bodhicaryāvatara.
    Echange of Self and Other
  21. Lumbini, Bodhgaya, Sarnath , Kushnigar
    4 major pilgrimage sites of Buddhism
  22. birthplace of Buddha
  23. the place where Buddha became awakened
  24. place where Buddha was first taught
  25. Place where Buddha died
  26. The nature of suffering (Dukkha), Suffering's origin (Samudaya), Suffering's cessation (Nirodha), The Way, the Eightfold Path, leading to the cessation of suffering
    Four Noble Truths
  27. four events that caused the Buddha to give up his life royal ease to seek Awakening

    1.a sick person 2. an old person 3. a corpse 4. a world-renouncing ascetic
    4 sights
  28. one of the four orders of Tibetan Buddhism,
    sometimes called the ‘Yellow Hat’ school. It was founded by Tsong Khapa. The Dalai Lama is the head
    of this order.
  29. literally the “Lesser Vehicle,” a pejorative
    term used by those that practice the Mahāyāna
    for Mainstream Buddhism
  30. to gain insight to ‘the way things really are’, such as the three marks of existence, dependent origination, and the doctrine of No-Self
    insight meditation
  31. literally “Great Vehicle,” this is the form of Buddhism that began to develop around the beginning of the Common Era with the ideal of the bodhisattva
  32. Sometimes called Early Conservative Buddhism. The dominant form of Buddhism for the first 500 years after Buddha (approx. 500 BCE – 0 CE). The ideal is the arhat.
    Mainstream Buddhism
  33. 1. All originating things are impermanent.

    2. All defiled things are linked to suffering.

    3. All things (esp. the Self or Soul) are empty.
    marks of existence, three
  34. the Buddha’s teaching which is a rejection of both worldly sensual pleasures and painful self-mortification
    The Middle Way
  35. the 12 links of dependent origination:
    ignorance, karma, consciousness, name and form, six senses or sources, contact, feeling, or grasping, attachment, existence, birth, aging and death
  36. the six qualities in which bodhisattvas train
    to achieve Awakening. They are:
    Generosity, Ethics, Patience, Endeavor, Meditative Concentration, Wisdom
    perfections, six
  37. greed, hatred or version, delusion
    poisons, three
  38. giving of one’s possessions and one’s self or
  39. virtue, morality, discipline, proper conduct
  40. tolerance, forbearance, acceptance, endurance
  41. energy, diligence, vigor
  42. one-pointed concentration, contemplation
    meditative concentration
  43. insight
  44. The six different types of rebirth possible according to Buddhism. They are:

    1) Humans
    - Most Fortunate Position b/c Awakening
    is possible

    2) Animals

    3) Hell Dwellers or Beings

    4) Pretas(Avaricious Spirits or Hungry Ghosts)

    5) Asuras (Lesser Gods or Demigods)

    6) Gods
    realms of existence
  45. the community of Buddhist monks, nuns, and
    laymen and laywomen.
  46. (lit. “seizing the truth” or “the struggle for
    truth”) Truth-force. The term used by Gandhi to describe his method of nonviolent opposition to social and political injustices.
  47. one who is adept in the methods and philosophy
    of satyagraha
  48. one of the ways to develop bodhicitta that focuses on meditating that all beings have at one time been our parents and helping them through compassion
    the seven steps
  49. the ritual outlined in the Bodhicaryāvatara that
    consists of 7 parts:

    1. Homage to the Three Jewels

    2. Presentation of offerings

    3. Confession of one’s faults

    4. Rejoicing in the merits of others

    5. Requesting the Buddhas to remain in saṃsāra

    6. Requesting the Teaching (Dharma) for them

    7. Dedication of merit
    Seven-Limbed Prayer or the Supreme Worship
  50. 8th century Indian monk who was the writer of the Bodhicaryāvatara
  51. The lifetime in which the Buddha becomes a bodhisattva by taking a vow to achieve Enlightenment in the presence of a previous
    Buddha, Dipamkara
    Sumedha or Sumati
  52. a teaching attributed to the historical Buddha
  53. goods made in one’s own country; indigenous products or ideas
    svadeshi, swadeshi
  54. self-rule’ or freedom in the political sense; for Gandhi it also meant having control over oneself
    svaraj, swaraj
  55. The Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha
    Three Jewels
  56. founder of the Gelukpa Order in Tibetan Buddhism
    Tsong Khapa
  57. the monastic code in Buddhism
  58. Originally term for Vedic sacrifice. In Classical Hinduism it means any activity undertaken in the spirit of sacrifice to any deity. For Gandhi, it is human interdependence and mutual service.
Card Set
Quiz 4 on Buddhism