Erikson's Stages and Maslow's Heiarchy

  1. Infant
    Trust vs Mistrust
    Needs maximum comfort with minimal uncertaintyto trust himself/herself, others, and the environment
  2. Toddler
    Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt
    Works to master physical environment while maintainingself-esteem
  3. Preschooler
    Initiative vs Guilt
    • Begins to initiate, not imitate, activities;
    • developsconscience, and sexual identity.
  4. School-Age Child
    Industry vs Inferiority
    Tries to develop a sense of self-worth by refining skills.
  5. Adolescent
    Identity vs Role Confusion
    • Tries integrating many roles (child, sibling, student, athlete,worker) into a self-image.
    • Under role model and peer pressure
  6. Young Adult
    Intimacy vs Isolation
    • Learns to make personal commitment to another.
    • as a spouse
    • parent
    • or partner
  7. Middle-Age Adult
    Generativity vs Stagnation
    Seeks satisfaction through productivity in career, family, and community interests.
  8. Older Adult
    Integrity vs Despair
    Reviews and is reminiccent of life accomplishments, deals with loss, and preparation for death.
  9. Maslow's Hierachy of Human Needs
    • Physiological
    • Saftey
    • Love and Belonging
    • Self-Esteem
    • Self-Actualization
  10. Physiological Needs
    • They consist of needs for oxygen, food, water, and temperature. They are the strongest needs is air. The physiological needs come first in the person's need for satisfaction.
    • ABC's.
    • Airway
    • Breathing
    • Circulation
  11. Saftey
    When all physiological needs are satisfied the needs for saftey in next. We need to feel safe in our environment. Be free of all dangers.
  12. Needs of Love, Affection and Belongingness
    Next are needs for love, affection and belonging. A feeling of being loved and a belonging to family, friends, etc.
  13. Self-Esteem
    Self-esteem involves needs for both self-esteem and for the esteem a person gets from others. Humans have a need for a stable, firmly based, high level of self-respect, and respect from others. When these needs are satisfied, the person feels self-confident and valuable as a person in the world. When these needs are frustrated, the person feels inferior, weak, helpless and worthless.
  14. Self-Actualization
    Self-actualization describes a person's need to be and do that which the person was "born to do." These needs make themselves felt in signs of restlessness. The person feels on edge, tense, lacking something, in short, restless. If a person is hungry, unsafe, not loved or accepted, or lacking self-esteem, it is very easy to know what the person is restless about. It is not always clear what a person wants when there is a need for self-actualization.
Card Set
Erikson's Stages and Maslow's Heiarchy
Erikson's and Maslow's Stages