Piaget’s Stages of Development

  1. Accommodation
    • A person's growing ability to modify current thoughts structure to deal with new or newly perceived features of the environment.
    • Old ideas are changed or even replaced based on new information. (re-evaluate opinion that the girl is nice since she threw a snow ball at you) 
  2. Assimilation
    The individual's act of incorporating an aspect of his or her environment into an existing thought structure. adding new information to your existing knowledge (nice Girls has mischievous side) 
  3. Adaptation
    The adaptation process itself can occur in two ways: through assimilation and accommodation
  4. 1. Senorimotor Stage 

    Piaget’s Stages of Development
    • (Birth - 2years) Infants and young children learn primarily through sensory input and action. There are 3 achievements during this stage
    • 1. Object permanence - child recognize that objects continue to exist even when they are out of sight
    • 2. Child recognize that certain events cause other events
    • 3. Symbolic thought - child begin to use language (symbols) to think about actions before performing them.
  5. 2. Preoperational Stage
    (2 to 7 years) Key characteristic of this stage is the symbolic function, which allows the child to learn through the use of mental images, language and other symbols that represent objects that aren't present.  Language development a major hallmark of this period. Children during this sage engage in symbolic play and can solve problems mentally.(use of a broom for a horse and role - mommy, daddy, doctor etc..) - do not yet understand concrete logic.
  6. 3. Concrete Operational Stage
    • (7 - 11 Years) Middle of childhood. 
    • Characterized by development of logical thought. thinking still tends to be very concrete. Children become much more logical and sophisticated in their thinking during this stage of development. Children able to use inductive logic/inductive reasoning.  - going from specific experience to a general principle. (itchy eyes, runny noise and swollen throat around a cat - allergic to cats.). Have difficulty with deductive logic A=B, B=C, but struggle to understand
  7. 4. Formal Operation
    • 12 -  Adulthood 
    • Thinking becomes for sophisticated and advance. able to be think about abstract and theoretical concepts and use logic to come up with creative solutions to problems. logical thought, deductive reasoning and systematic planning and hypothetical-deductive reasoning also emerge
  8. Concrete vs Abstract thinking
    Concrete thinking refers to the thinking on the surface whereas abstract thinking is related to thinking in depth. Concert thinking does not have any dept. It just refers to thinking in the periphery. on the other hand, abstract thinking goes under the surface.
  9. Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development
    1.  Sensorimotor State (0-2)

    • a. Object Permanence 
    • b. Causality 
    • c. Symbolic Thought
    • 2. Preoperational Stage (2 -7) 

    3. Concrete Operational (7-11)

    4. Formal Operational (12 and up)
Card Set
Piaget’s Stages of Development
Piaget’s Stages of Development