TFM 11 tested

  1. What is the purpose of the Texas fire rules?
    • to regulate the planning, selling, leasing, installing, servicing, monitoring and maintenance of fire devices and systems.
    • to prohibit the use of unrecognized devices
  2. What does NFPA stand for?
    National Fire Protection Agency
  3. What is a fire alarm device?
    Any device that is capable of warning audibly or visually that a fire has occurred.
  4. What is a fire detection device?
    Any device that is capable of detecting that fire or smoke is present.
  5. What five things can a municipality or county demand in addition to the fire alarm rules?
    • they can mandate that a system be installed if they feel it's needed
    • they can require standards that are higher than law
    • they can require regular inspections
    • they can require that a permit be obtained for alarm
    • they can require, that a monitored property be contacted before dispatch is sent out
    • (Need system, better standards, regular inspections, permit needed, contact before dispatch)
  6. What insurance is a company or firm required to have?
    • general liability insurance with 'Products' and 'completed operations coverage
    • $100k for each incident of bodily injury or property damage
    • $300K for all annual occurrences
  7. What two things are required to become licensed?
    • you must pass a written exam
    • you must be employed by a registered firm
  8. What 4 standards and codes may the fire commissioner adopt to create the rules?
    • NFPA standards
    • Federal law or regulatory standards
    • Standards published by a recognized national standards organization
    • Information provided by manufacturers
  9. Who do the Texas fire rules NOT apply to?
    • Anyone not involved in the planning leasing, servicing, sales or maintenance of fire systems
    • Anyone who installs electrical wiring or devices so long as: the work was supervised by a licensed employee of a registered firm, OR if the registered firm assumes ALL responsibility for the system
    • Anyone who installs on their own property
    • Anyone who does not charge for the device or it's installation
    • Anyone who sells fire equipment EXCLUSIVELY over the counter or through mail order, and who will not plan, certify, install, service, or maintain the devices
    • Any engineer acting in his professional capacity
    • Anyone who installs at no charge battery operated, single station, residential equipment that is NFPA compliant and installed by knowledgeable installers
    • an employee of a registered firm that is being supervised by a License Holder
    • Any building owner who installs and monitors on site, at no cost to the resident, a system that meets NFPA standards with equipment recognized by a testing laboratory
    • An employee of a registered firm who installs single station, non-monitored, lab recognized equipment for residential use, so long as the installer is knowledgeable and meets NFPA standards.
    • A licensed alarm technician who installs fire keypad panics
  10. In what situations do the Texas Fire Rules not apply to certified Electricians?
    • Certified electricians who install single station residential equipment
    • certified electricians who install multiple station equipment that meets NFPA standards and that does not communicate off premises
  11. How long does the state fire marshal have to inform the examinees of their results?
    no more than 30 days, results are mailed
  12. If a certificate or pocket card is defaced, it becomes _______?
    Invalid
  13. How long is a certificate of license renewal Valid for?
    two years. The renewal fee for each year is payable upon renewal.
  14. At what point must the fire marshal notify a license holder that their license is about to expire?
    At least 30 days before the license expires
  15. How does a person with an UNEXPIRED license obtain renewal?
    pay the renewal fee before the expiration date.
  16. How does a person obtain renewal of a license that has been expired for LESS than 90 days?
    • Pay the renewal fee PLUS a fee not to exceed one fourth of the original fee paid to obtain the license.
    • So if it is $100 they will pay $125
  17. How does a person obtain a renewal of a license that has been expired between 90 days and 2 years?
    Pay the renewal fee PLUS a fee that does not exceed the original fee to obtain the license
  18. How do you renew a license expired for two years or more?
    You cannot renew, you must take the test again.
  19. Can a fire fighter sell and install fire systems?
    no, unless he is licensed to do so.
  20. If you submit your renewal application and it is not complete, what happens?
    You are granted 30 days to complete the application. Beyond that, you can be charged late fees.
  21. When no longer employed by a registered firm, can you renew your license?
    yes, but you may not engage in License activity until you are employed by a registered firm again.
  22. Must you be employed by a registered firm to have a license issued?
    YES
  23. Can non-laboratory certified equipment ever be used?
    • yes, so long as it complied with the law at the time of the installation, and has not been modified.
    • example:
    • An old alarm in an old building.
  24. What three things should a firm do to train and supervised and employee who is exempt from the rules?
    • Ensure that each install complies with NFPA standards
    • Ensure that each device is laboratory certified
    • Ensure that the individual is knowledgeable in fire protection and placement of detectors
  25. What three practices concerning the fire licensing are prohibited by law?
    • planning, certifying, selling, installing, monitoring and maintaining fire systems without a license
    • attempting to obtain a license fraudulently
    • violating ANY of the Texas fire rules
  26. What happens if the rules are violated?
    After notice and a hearing, the state fire marshal may suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue a license.
  27. If a license is revoked, how long must a person wait to re-apply?
    You must wait at least one year after the date the license was revoked. You must also request a public hearing to show why your new license should not be denied.
  28. Which three actions constitute a criminal offense?
    • Planning, installing or monitoring systems without a license
    • Running a separate branch without its own certificate
    • running a firm without at least one employee who is a technician, superintendent or Planning superintendent
  29. What type of criminal offense is committed?
    Class B misdemeanor
  30. What is monitoring equipment?
    Equipment used to transmit and receive Fire trouble, supervisory and alarm signals to and from a firm registered to monitor such signals
  31. What does NICET stand for?
    National institute for certification and Engineering Technologies
  32. What is an approved testing laboratory?
    An organization that lists all the equipment that complies with the state fire rules
  33. What is an approved testing organization?
    An organization that tests applicants, such as NICET
  34. What are the rules governing a firm's Certificate of registration?
    • A specific location must be maintained by the firm and listed on the certificate.
    • The certificate must be posted CONSPICUOSLY at the business location
  35. What would invalidate a firm's certificate?
    A total change of a firm's ownership
  36. What causes a firm’s certificate to be revised?
    A change in business name, location or mailing address
  37. What business change must the marshal be notified of, but does not require a revised certificate?
    a change in corporate officers
  38. What does a FIRE ALARM TECHNICIAN license allow?
    The installation, inspection, certifying, servicing, testing, maintaining, and monitoring of fire devices and systems
  39. What does a RESIDENTIAL FIRE ALARM SUPERINTENDANT SINGLE STATION license allow?
    The planning, installation, inspection, certifying, servicing, testing, maintaining, and monitoring of RESIDENTIAL SINGLE STATION devices and systems
  40. What does a FIRE ALARM MONITORING TECHNICIAN license allow?
    Allows the monitoring of fire devices and systems ONLY
  41. What does a RESIDENTIAL FIRE ALARM SUPERINTENDANT license alarm allow?
    • Allows the planning, installing, certifying, inspecting, testing, servicing, monitoring and maintenance of RESIDENTIAL devices and systems.
    • This license means that the SUPERINTENDANT may act as a fire alarm technician
  42. What does a FIRE ALARM PLANNING SUPERINTENDANT license allow?
    • Allows the planning, installing, certifying, testing, servicing, monitoring, and maintenance of fire devices and systems.
    • This license means the SUPERINTENDANT may act as a fire alarm technician or as a residential fire alarm superintendent
  43. Where must all licenses be kept or displayed?
    A pocket license must be kept on the licensee when they are working, and a paper wall license must be displayed conspicuously at the business location. Any altered licenses will be rendered invalid.
  44. When can a licensee NOT engage in fire activities?
    When they are NOT employed by a registered firm.
  45. How long does a firm have to notify the fire marshal of an employee’s termination?
    Within 14 days of termination.
  46. Which license applicant ONLY need take the fire marshal’s technical test?
    residential fire alarm single station and a fire alarm monitoring technician applicant
  47. What must a Fire Alarm Technician and Residential Fire Alarm Superintendent applicants furnish the fire marshal with?
    A notification from NICET confirming they have passed a test in work elements pertaining to fire systems. they must also pass the fire marshals qualifying test.
  48. What must an applicant for a FIRE ALARM SUPERINTENDANT furnish the fire marshal with?
    a notification from NICET confirming they have passed a test in work elements pertaining to fire systems and proof of registration in Texas as a professional engineer.
  49. How many times can an applicant schedule a test within 12 months?
    3 Times
  50. What is considered repair?
    • RESTORATION TO OPERATING CONDITION
    • replacement of old equipment in the same location with new and similar equipment is also considered repair. New equipment must meet the latest standards but the entire system does not need to be brought up to code
  51. When is an installation certificate completed?
    AFTER installation, modification or addition to a fire system.
  52. Where must 3 copies of the installation certificate be distributed?
    • original stays on site
    • One copy retained for life of a system or ten years by the fire marshal’s office
    • One copy sent within ten days to the local authority having jurisdiction
  53. When must the three installation inspections be performed?
    • 1- At the completion of the device back box but prior to #2
    • 2- At the completion of the device cable installation but prior to #3
    • 3- At the completion of the device installation but prior to activation
  54. What is the purpose of fire alarm plans and record drawings tag?
    To certify that the plan or finished drawing of a fire system meets all codes and standards
  55. What five things should it say on the installation label?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE TEXAS FIRE MARSHALL
    • INSTALLATION RECORD
    • The firms name address telephone and registration number
    • Installation date and licensee signature and license number
    • The name of whoever planned the system
  56. What five things should it say on the RESIDENTIAL installation label?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE
    • TEXAS FIRE MARSHALL
    • INSTALLATION RECORD
    • The firm’s name address telephone and registration
    • number
    • Installation date and licensee signature and
    • license number
    • An inscription certifying the install meets code
  57. When and where must the installation labels be placed?
    Inside the control panel cover or in a permanent location
  58. When must a service label be used?
    After any service that has corrected and issue that was noted on a yellow or red label
  59. How long must a service label stay in place?
    Two years. An agent of the Fire marshal may remove it at any time.
  60. What six things must be listed on a Service Label?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE
    • TEXAS FIRE MARSHALL
    • SERVICE RECORD
    • The firm’s name address telephone and registration
    • number
    • service date and licensee signature and
    • license number
    • a list of services performed
    • Type of service - either general service or a correction of conditions
  61. What does an inspection label show? what color is it?
    It shows that an inspection or test has taken place. It must be blue
  62. What seven things must an inspection label say?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE
    • TEXAS FIRE MARSHALL
    • INSPECTION/TEST RECORD
    • The firm’s name address telephone and registration
    • number
    • INSPECTION date and licensee signature and
    • license number
    • type of inspection - new install, Semiannual, quarterly or annual
    • Date of last sensitivity test
    • Status of the system after inspection, and whether a red or yellow label was attached
  63. When should a yellow label be used?
    If a system does not meet applicable codes and standards
  64. What must happen if a yellow label is attached?
    The property owner and local jurisdiction must be informed in writing within five days of the label being attached
  65. What five things must be listed on a yellow label?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE FIRE MARSHALL
    • SYSTEM DOES NOT COMPLY WITH APPLICABLE CODES AND STANDARDS
    • the firms name, address, telephone and registration number
    • date label was attached and licensee signature and number
    • a list of conditions resulting in the yellow label
  66. Where should a yellow or red label be attached?
    on the outside of the control panel or in a permanent location
  67. When should a red label be attached?
    If a system does not function or is inoperable
  68. What must happen after a red label is attached?
    The property owner or occupant must be orally notified immediately. The property owner and local jurisdiction must be informed in writing within 5 days of the label being attached
  69. What five things must be on a red label?
    • DO NOT REMOVE BY ORDER OF THE FIRE MARSHALL
    • Status of the system - inoperable, impaired, or fault
    • The firms name, address, telephone and registration number
    • Date label was attached and licensee signature and license number
    • A list of conditions resulting in the red label
Author
jamathes
ID
347646
Card Set
TFM 11 tested
Description
TFM 11 TDI Texas Insurance Code Chapter 6002
Updated