ATS 3 Readiness Evaluations and waivers

  1. How many Readiness Evaluations are there? What are they?
    7, READ-E 1, READ-E 2, READ-E 3, READ-E 4, READ-E 5, READ-E 6, and READ-E 7.
  2. What is READ-E 1?
    Ship self-assessment: Executed during the Sustainment Phase, typically while the ship is on deployment.
  3. What is the purpose of READ-E 1?
    What i
    The purpose of READ-E 1 is for the ship to perform a critical self-assessment of their manning, material, schooling, and other requirements in order to gain an assessment of their readiness to conduct the next FRTP cycle.
  4. What is READ-E 2?
    TYCOM-led assessment of material condition executed during the Sustainment Phase following READ-E 1.
  5. When is READ-E 2 be conducted?
    It is conducted in conjunction with an underway period.
  6. What must be completed before the start of the Maintenance Phase?
    READ-E 2
  7. What is READ-E 3?
    A TYCOM-led validation event conducted during the Sustainment Phase.
  8. What may READ-E 3 be conducted with?
    READ-E 2.
  9. What three primary events make up READ-E 3?
    READ-E 1 Validation, Safety and Occupational Health (SOH) and Environmental Programs Review, and the Command Readiness Assist Visit (CRAV).
  10. What is READ-E 4? When is it conducted?
    A TYCOM-led assessment of the ship's readiness to exit the Maintenance Phase. READ-E 4 is conducted at the end of the Maintenance Phase, nominally in the last three weeks.
  11. How many events make up READ-E 4? What are they?
    5, Light Off Assessment (LOA); Crew Certification; Dock Trials/Fast Cruise; Navigation Assessment; and Contractor (KTR) Sea Trials.
  12. What is READ-E 5?
    A TYCOM-led assessment of the ship's readiness to commence Basic Phase training.
  13. How long is READ-E 5?
    Nominally one month
  14. How many events make up READ-E 5? What are they?
    4, TSRA 4; Tier 1 and Tier 2 Material Checks; a Continuing Maintenance Availability (CMAV); and TYCOM Sea Trials.
  15. What is important about the complexity of READ-E 5?
    Due to the scope of READ-E 5, TYCOM shall be responsible for de-conflicting the various events.
  16. What is READ-E 6?
    A TYCOM-led assessment that verifies the ship's readiness to transition from Tier 1 (Mobility) to Tier 2 (Unit Tactical).
  17. What is READ-E 7?
    A one month period allotted to the ship in order to prepare for and conduct an INSURV or TYCOM Material Inspection (MI).
  18. Who assists in READ-E 3 Coordination?
    The Training Liaison Officer
  19. What is provided prior to READ-E 6? When is it provided?
    A tailored list of Tier 2 materials checks to the READ-E 6 event coordinator one week before READ-E 6.
  20. What is a Certification Validation?
    A support certification extension for ships without a dedicated CNO Availability period between scheduled deployments.
  21. Why would a waiver be submitted?
    In circumstances when exit criteria have not been met
  22. How would a waiver be submitted?
    Via Naval Message through the administrative chain of command and to TYCOM for approval.
Card Set
ATS 3 Readiness Evaluations and waivers
also mine