1. Asbestos
    is a set of six naturally occurring silicate minerals, which all can cause lung cancer, mesothelioma and asbestosis.
  2. Buffer zone
    an area of land designated for environmental protection.
  3. Building code
    is a set of rules that specify the standards for constructed objects such as buildings and nonbuilding structures.
  4. Building inspections
    is an inspection performed by a building inspector, a person who is employed by either a city, township or county and is usually certified in one or more disciplines qualifying them to make professional judgment about whether a building meets building code requirements.
  5. Building permit
    is an official approval to proceed with a construction project.  It is intended to ensure that the project plans comply with local standards for land use, zoning, and construction.
  6. Certificate of occupancy
    is a document issued by a local government agency or building department certifying a building's compliance with applicable building codes and other laws, and indicating it to be in a condition suitable for occupancy.
  7. Concurrency
    is a set of land use regulations that local governments are required (by the Florida Legislature) to adopt to ensure that new development does not outstrip local government's ability to handle it.
  8. Environmental Impact Statement
    study required by the National Environmental Policy Act for all federal and federally related projects, which details a development project's impact on energy use, sewage systems, drainage, water facilities, schools, and other environmental, economic, and social areas.
  9. Health ordinances
    are local rules or laws that created to protect the general welfare of the citizens in the community.  May include pets, air quality issues, outside burning, child care centers, noise, pest control, swimming pool barriers and others.
  10. Nonconforming use
    is a use of property that was allowed under the zoning regulations at the time the use was established but which, because of subsequent changes in those regulations, is no longer permitted use.
  11. Planned unit development (PUD)
    is a type of building development and also a regulatory process.  As a building development, it is a designed grouping of both varied and compatible land uses, such as housing, recreation, commercial centers, and industrial parks, all within one contained development or subdivision.
  12. Special exception
    a special use permit authorizes land uses that are allowed and encouraged by the ordinance and declared harmonious with the applicable zoning district.
  13. Special flood hazard area (SFHA)
    is an area identified by the United States Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as an area with a special flood or mudflow, and/or flood related erosion hazard, as shown on a flood hazard boundary map or flood insurance rate map.
  14. Variance
    is a request to deviate from current zoning requirements.  If granted, it permits the owner to use his land in a way that is ordinarily not permitted by the zoning ordinance.  It is not a change in the zoning law, but a waiver from the requirements of the zoning ordinance.
  15. Zoning ordinance
    • -written regulations and laws that define how property in specific geographic zones can be used.
    • -specify whether zones can be used for residential or commercial purposes, and may also regulate lot size, placement, bulk and height of structures.
Card Set