erikson stages

  1. Stage 1: trust vs. mistrust
    occurs between birth and one year of age. trust is based upon the caregiver. success= safe and secure in the world. failure to do so results in fear and belief of world being inconsistent. when balanced children gain hope.
  2. stage 2: autonomy vs. shame
    early childhood. personal control is developed. toilet training is a vital part. learning to control led to sense of independence. success= secure and confident. failure is left with self doubt balance of the too creates will, act with intention.
  3. stage 3: initiative vs. guilt
    during preschool years. power is shown through social interactions. success = capable to lead others. failure results in guilt and self doubt. balance is achieved when the ego quality of purpose emerges.
  4. stage 4: industry vs. inferiority
    school years (ages 5-11). children develop sense of pride in accomplishments and abilities. children who are encouraged develop sense of belief in their skills. no encouragement leads to children doubting their abilities. balance = competence (belief in our own skills to do the task)
  5. stage 5: identity vs. confusion
    during adolescence. encouragement through personal exploration results in feeling independent and control. fidelity is created when this stage is successful ( the ability to live by society's standards and expectations
  6. stage 6: intimacy vs. isolation
    early adulthood. success= form committed and secure relationships. successful resolution in this stage results in love.
  7. stage 7: generativity vs. stagnation
    during adulthood. success= feel like they're contributing to the world by being active in home and community. fail= unproductive and uninvolved. when this stage is handled successfully care is achieved.
  8. stage 8: integrity vs. despair
    during old age. reflects on life. those who are proud of life will feel integrity and those who aren't feel despair and regret. success= few regrets and satisfication
Card Set
erikson stages
erikson stages