Erikson's theory

  1. ego identity
    Ego identity is the conscious sense of self that we develop through social interaction. Ego identity is constantly changing due to new experiences and information we acquire in our daily interactions with others (throughout our lives)
  2. is stage is handled well
    he person will feel a sense of mastery, which is sometimes referred to as ego strength or ego quality.
  3. if stage is managed poorly
    • person doesn't get fixated
    • the person will emerge with a sense of inadequacy.
  4. Erikson believed people experience a conflict that serves as
    • turning point in development.
    • During these times, the potential for personal growth is high, but so is the potential for failure.
  5. How we resolve each crisis shapes our
    personality and affects our relationships with others
  6. stage one
    trust vs. mistrust.
    • one to 18 months
    • Parents must provide a safe, consistent and loving environment for children to leave this stage healthily with a strong trust that others care and will always be there for them.
  7. mistrust
    based on inconsistent, cold or abusive situationsprevents children from leaving this stage ready to form lasting and close relationships in the future
  8. stage 2
    • autonmony v shame and doubt
    • 2-3 years
    • terrible twos- comes from children's needs to develop self control and do things for themselves which can result inSpillsFalls wettingOther accidents
  9. shame and doubt
    • if encouraged they develop autonomy
    • if overprotected then they doubt abilities and feel ashamed
  10. stage 3 initiative
    • 3- 5 years
    • initiative v guilt
    • gain control/ balance
  11. guilt stage 3
    Severely criticized, discouraged from asking questions, not permitted to make choices, and prevented from playing make children feel guilty
  12. stage 4
    • 6-12
    • industry v inferiority
    • gain-- confidence and self worth
  13. 4 inferiority
    If children feel inadequate and socially or mentally inferior, then these feelings will carry on into their futures
  14. stage 5
    • 12-20
    • identity v role confusion
    • gain - sense of unified self
  15. 5 role confusion
    Failure of teens to achieve a sense of identity results in role confusion and uncertainty about who they are and where they are going
  16. stage 6
    • 21-40
    • intimacy vs. isolation
    • gain - ability to form close relationships
  17. 6 isolation
    Without intimacy, people feel alone and uncared for in life; they experience isolation
  18. stage 7
    • 40-65
    • Generativity (legacy)vs. stagnation
    • gain- form a legacy, guidance/ well being for future generations
  19. 7 stagnation
    People who fail to achieve generativity can become stagnant and preoccupied with their own needs and comforts
  20. stage 8
    • age 65- end
    • integrity vs despair
    • gain- content with life, sense of satisfaction
  21. 8 despair
    Those in despair look back with regrets and disappointment in the lives they’ve led
Card Set
Erikson's theory
note 91