Seven Dimensions of Religion

  1. Doctrinal
    Many religions have a system of doctrines—beliefs about thenature of Divinity or ultimate reality and the relationship of humans to that ultimate, real,divinity
  2. Mythological
    myths are the sacred stories which pass from generation togeneration—myths are sacred because they reveal and explain what that tradition believes tobe the ultimate nature of gods, humans and the universe
  3. Ethical
    in every tradition you will find sets of rules, behavioural precepts orguidelines for conduct according to which the community judges a person good or evildepending on the level of conformity to those precepts
  4. Ritual
    the way in which the community re-enacts its myths and confirmsand expresses its beliefs through action
  5. Experiential
    the capacity of ritual, prayer, worship to evoke feelings ofsecurity and comfort or on the other hand feelings of awe, inexplicable presence, mystery,ecstasy.
  6. Social
    a religious tradition implies some sort of social organization throughwhich it perpetuates itself. There can be individuals who exemplify the religious tradition,and who live outside of society, but the teachings and the tradition itself is preserved andpassed on through the social organization of churches, temples, mosques or monasteries
  7. Material
    ordinary objects or places that symbolize or manifest the sacred orsupernatural.
Card Set
Seven Dimensions of Religion
Religion (Ninian Smarts) 9/11/13