Microbiology - Characterizing and Classifying Eukaryotes (Ch. 12)

  1. What are the five categories of eukaryotic microbes?
    • 1) Unicellular and multicellular protozoa
    • 2) Fungi
    • 3) Algae
    • 4) Water Molds
    • 5) Slime Molds

    (12, 340)
  2. Eukaryotic reproduction involves two types of divisions. What are they?
    • 1) Nuclear division
    • 2) Cytoplasmic division

    (12, 340)
  3. Compare haploid vs diploid.
    • haploid is a nucleus with a single copy of each chromosome, and is also called a 1n nucleus.
    • diploid is a nucleus with two sets of chromosomes, and is also called a 2n nucleus.

    (12, 340)
  4. What are the two types of nuclear division?
    • 1) Mitosis
    • 2) Meiosis

    (12, 340)
  5. What happens during interphase?
    During interphase, the cell grows and replicates its DNA.

    (12, 340-341)
  6. What is mitosis?
    Mitosis is the nuclear division of a eukaryotic cell resulting in two nuclei with the same ploidy (# of sets of chromosomes) as the original.

    (12, 341)
  7. List and briefly explain the four phases of mitosis.
    • 1) Prophase
    • Cell condenses DNA molecules into visible threads called chromatids. Two identical sister chromatids are then joined together at a region called the centromere and form one chromosome. At the same time, a set of microtubules is constructed in the cytosol to form a spindleThis process typically takes place in the cytosol (the nuclear envelope will first disintegrate). However, some microbes maintain their nuclear envelopes and mitosis will occur in their nuclei.
    • 2) Metaphase
    • The chromosomes line up on a plane in the middle of the cell and attach their centromeres to microtubules of the spindle. 
    • 3) Anaphase
    • Sister chromatids separate and crawl along the microtubules toward opposite poles of the spindle. Each chromatid is now called a chromosome.
    • 4) Telophase
    • The cell restores its chromosomes to their less compact, nonmitotic state, and nuclear envelopes form around the daughter nuclei.

    (12, 341)
  8. What is meiosis?
    • Meiosis is the nuclear division of diploid eukaryotic cells resulting in four haploid nuclei.
    • *This is used to produce sexual reproduction cells called gametes.

    (12, 341)
  9. What is cytokinesis?
    Cytokinesis is the division of a cell's cytoplasm.

    (12, 343)
  10. What are coenocytes?
    Coenocytes are multinucleate cells resulting from repeated mitosis but postponed or absent cytokinesis.

    (12, 343)
  11. What is schizogony?
    • It is a type of reproduction performed only by certain protozoa. Multiple mitoses form a multinucleate schizont. Only then does cytokinesis occur, simultaneously releasing numerous uninucleate daughter cells called merozoites
    • *A body infected with this responds to the sudden release of the huge numbers of merozoites with the cyclic fever and chills characteristic of malaria.Image Upload 1

    (12, 343)
  12. What are the three characteristics that define protozoa?
    • 1) Eukaryotic
    • 2) Unicellular
    • 3) Lack a cell wall

    (12, 345)
Card Set
Microbiology - Characterizing and Classifying Eukaryotes (Ch. 12)
Microbiology - Characterizing and Classifying Eukaryotes (Ch. 12)