1. What are the five types of membranes?
    Mucous, Serous, Synovial, Meninges & Cutaneous.
  2. Mucous membranes
    Line the interior walls of the organs and tubes opening to the outside of the body, such as those of the digestive, respiratory, urinary, and reproductive systems. These membranes are lined with epithelium, which are involved in absorption and secretion. The mucous membrane is composed of epithelium orverlaying a layer of connective tissue caleld lamina propria. In some instances, the lamina propria rests on a third layer of smooth muscle cells. Not every mucous membrane secretes mucous.
  3. Serous membranes
    Line cavities, including the thoracic cavity and internal organs(eg heart). They consist of a layer of simple squamos epithelium overlaying a layer of loose connective tissue. Serous membranes support internal organs and compartmentalize the large cavities to hinder spread of infection. The serous membranes are names according to their organ associations. the lungs are covered by pleura and the heart is covered by pericardium. the serous layer also lines the abdominal cavity.
  4. Synovial membranes
    Line joint cavities and are composed of connective tissues. They secrete synovial fluid into the joint cavity; this lubricates the ends of bones so they can move freely.
  5. Meninges
    Composed of three connective tissue membranes found within the dorsal cavity and serve as a protective covering of, for example, the brain and spinal cord.
  6. Cutaneous membrane
    Forms the outer covering of the body and consists of a thin layer of stratified squamous epithelium attached to the thicker underlying layer of connective tissue. the cutaneous membrane is skin
  7. Connective tissue
    includes a number of different tissues with a common feature. theysupport a connet tissues of the body. Connective tissue is a divided into four general groups: connective tissue prover, cartilage, bone and blood.
Card Set
Chapter 2 Membranes