CompTIA Security + Ch 9

  1. Access control model
    Admission to physical area, and more important computer systems is managed and organized.
  2. Discretionary Access Control (DAC)
    An access control policy generally determined by the owner.
  3. Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria (TCSEC)
    A DoD (department of defense) standard that sets basic requirments for assessing the effectiveness of computer security access ploicies. Also known as the Orange Book.
  4. Mandatory Access Control (MAC)
    An access control policy determined by a computer system, not by a user or owner, as it is in DAC.
  5. Role Based Access Control (RBAC)
    An access model that works with sets of permissions, instead of individual permissions that are label-based,
  6. Implicit Deny
    Denies all traffic to a resource unless their are users granted access to that resource.
  7. Job Rotation
    When users are cycled through various assignments.
  8. Separation of Duties (SoD)
    This is when more than one person is required to complete a paticular task or operation.
  9. Least Privilege
    When a user is given only the amount of privleges needed to do his/her job.
  10. Account Expiration
    The date when a user's accounts the use to log on expire.
  11. Permissions
    File system permissions control what resources a person can access on the network.
  12. Time-of-Day restriction
    When a user's logon hours are configured to restict access to the network during certain times of the day and week.
  13. Access Control List (ACL)
    A kist of permissions attached to an object. They specify what level of access a user, users or groups have to an object.
  14. Policy
    Rules or guidelines used to guide decisions and acheive outcomes. They can be written or configured on a computer.
Card Set
CompTIA Security + Ch 9
Flash Cards