1. First
    (1791) Protects freedom of religion, speech, press, and assembly, also the right of petition
  2. Second
    (1791) Protects the right to bear arms
  3. Third
    (1791) Places limits on quartering troops
  4. Fourth
    (1791) Protects against unreasonable search and seizure
  5. Fifth
    (1791) Protects against the abuse of government authority in a legal procedure, due process, and double-jeopardy
  6. Sixth
    (1791) Protects the right to a speedy trial
  7. Seventh
    (1791) Protects right to a jury trial in civil cases
  8. Eighth
    (1791) Protects against excessive bail or fine, as well as cruel and unusual punishments
  9. Ninth
    (1791) Protects rights of the people which the Constitution doesn't enumerate
  10. Tenth
    (1791) Powers not delegated to the United States are reserved to the states
  11. Eleventh
    (1798) Citizens of one state may not sue another state
  12. Twelfth
    (1804) Established the electoral college system
  13. Thirteenth
    (1865) Abolished slavery
  14. Fourteenth
    (1868) Defined post-Civil War citizenship, equal protection under the law
  15. Fifteenth
    (1870) Guaranteed the right to vote regardless of race, color, or slavery history
  16. Sixteenth
    (1913) Established the income tax
  17. Seventeenth
    (1913) Established direct election of United States Senators by popular vote
  18. Eighteenth
    (1919) Established prohibition of alcohol
  19. Nineteenth
    (1920) Gave women the right to vote
  20. Twentieth
    (1933) Established beginning and ending of the terms of the elected federal offices, ended lame-duck Congress session
  21. Twenty First
    (1933) Repealed prohibition
  22. Twenty Second
    (1951) Set a two-term limit for President
  23. Twenty Third
    (1961) Permitted citizens in DC to vote for Electors for President
  24. Twenty Fourth
    (1964) Abolished poll tax in national elections
  25. Twenty Fifth
    (1967) Established a procedure for presidential succession
  26. Twenty Sixth
    (1971) Limited the minimum voting age to 18
  27. Twenty Seventh
    (1992) Prohibits any law to increase or decrease salary from going into effect until after the next set of terms begin
  28. Jamestown
    1607, 1
  29. Declaration of Independence
    1776, 2
  30. Constitutional Convention
    May 14-September 1787, 3
  31. Louisiana Purchase
    1803, 4
  32. War of 1812
    1812-1814, 5
  33. Antebellum Period
    1820, 6
  34. First Amendment
    Congress may make no laws that infringe a citizens righ tto freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly, and petition. Seperation of Church and State.
  35. Second Amendment
    The people have the right to keep and bear arms in a state militia.
  36. Third Amendment
    The people cannot be required to quarter soldiers during peacetime.
  37. Fourth Amendment
    The government may not carry out unreasonable searches or seizuresof the people's property
  38. Fifth Amendment
    No individual may be deprived of life, liberty, or property without due process of law. No defendant in a criminal case may be forced to give evidence against himself or herself or to stand trial twice for the same time (double jeopardy).
  39. Sixth Amendment
    Anyone accused of a crime has the right to a speedy and public trial and the right to call and question witnesses
  40. Seventh Amendment
    In most civil cases, citizens have the right to trial by jury
  41. Eighth Amendment
    Persons Accused or convicted of crimes are protected against excessive bail and fines and cruel nd unusual punishment
  42. Ninth Amendment
    Any rights not specifically mentioned in the Constitution are also guaranteed against government infringement
  43. Tenth Amendment
    All powers not delegated to the federal government belong to the states or to the people
Card Set