1. emotional intelligence
    the ability to reason about emotions and to use emotions to enhance reasoning
  2. cystalized intelligence
    the ability to retain and use knowledge that was acquired through expirence
  3. fluid intelligence
    the ability to see abstract relationships and draw logical inferences
  4. two factor theory of intelligence
    spearmens theory suggesting that every task requires a combination of a general ability (which he called g) and skills that are specific to the task (which he called s)
  5. howard gardner
    Gardner's Theory of multiple intelligences states not only do human beings have several different ways of learning and processing information, but these methods are relatively independent of one another: leading to multiple "intelligences" as opposed to a general intelligence factor among correlated abilities. Since 1999, Gardner has identified eight intelligences: linguistic, logic-mathematical, musical, spatial, bodily/kinesthetic, interpersonal, intrapersonal, and naturalistic. Gardner is still considering a ninth, or existential intelligence (the intelligence of "big questions"), but has not, as yet, added it. He thinks it will have something to do with seeing what you're working with.[
  6. jean piaget
    Piaget's theory of cognitive development is a comprehensive theory about the nature and development of human intelligence first developed by Jean Piaget. It is primarily known as a developmental stage theory, but in fact, it deals with the nature of knowledge itself and how humans come gradually to acquire it, construct it, and use it. Moreover, Piaget claims the idea that cognitive development is at the centre of human organism and language is contingent on cognitive development. Below, there is first a short description of Piaget's views about the nature of intelligence and then a description of the stages through which it develops until maturity.
  7. john bolby
    developed the attachment theory
  8. attachment theory
    Attachment is an emotional bond to another person. Psychologist John Bowlby was the first attachment theorist, describing attachment as a "lasting psychological connectedness between human beings" (Bowlby, 1969, p. 194). Bowlby believed that the earliest bonds formed by children with their caregivers have a tremendous impact that continues throughout life. According to Bowlby, attachment also serves to keep the infant close to the mother, thus improving the child's chances of survival.The central theme of attachment theory is that mothers who are available and responsive to their infant's needs establish a sense of security in their children. The infant knows that the caregiver is dependable, which creates a secure base for the child to then explore the world.The Components of AttachmentThere are four key components of attachment:Safe Haven: When the child feel threatened or afraid, he or she can return to the caregiver for comfort and soothing.Secure Base: The caregiver provides a secure and dependable base for the child to explore the world.Proximity Maintenance: The child strives to stay near the caregiver, thus keeping the child safe.Separation Distress: When separated from the caregiver, the child will become upset and distressed.
  9. lawrence kohlberg
    specialized in research on moral education and reasoning, he is best known for his theory of stages of moral development
  10. moral development
    • Pre-Conventional-1. Obedience and punishment orientation
    • 2. Self-interest orientation
    • Level 2 (Conventional)
    • 3. Interpersonal accord and conformity
    • 4. Authority and social-order maintaining orientation
    • Level 3 (Post-Conventional) 5. Social contract orientation
    • 6. Universal ethical principles
  11. erick erickson
    developed the theory of personality
  12. theory of personality
    • vs mistrust-This stage covers the period of infancy. 0-1 year of age. - Whether or not the baby develops basic trust or basic mistrust is not merely a matter of nurture. It is multi-faceted and has strong social components. It depends on the quality of the maternal relationship. The mother carries out and reflects their inner perceptions of trustworthiness, a sense of personal meaning, etc. on the child. If successful in this, the baby develops a sense of trust which “forms the basis in the child for a sense of identity
    • 2. Autonomy vs. Shame - Covers early childhood - Introduces the concept of autonomy vs. shame and doubt. During this stage the child is trying to master toilet training
    • 3. Purpose - Initiative vs. Guilt - Preschool / 3–6 years - Does the child have the ability to or do things on their own, such as dress him or herself? If "guilty" about making his or her own choices, the child will not function well. Erikson has a positive outlook on this stage, saying that most guilt is quickly compensated by a sense of accomplishment
    • 4.Competence - Industry vs. Inferiority - School-age / 6-11. Child comparing self worth to others (such as in a classroom environment). Child can recognize major disparities in personal abilities relative to other children. Erikson places some emphasis on the teacher, who should ensure that children do not feel inferior
    • 5. Fidelity - Identity vs. Role Confusion - Adolescent / 12 years till 20. Questioning of self. Who am I, how do I fit in? Where am I going in life? Erikson believes that if the parents allow the child to explore, they will conclude their own identity. However, if the parents continually push him/her to conform to their views, the teen will face identity confusion.
    • 6. Intimacy vs. isolation - This is the first stage of adult development. This development usually happens during young adulthood, which is between the ages of 20 to 24. Dating, marriage, family and friendships are important during the stage in their life. By successfully forming loving relationships with other people, individuals are able to experience love and intimacy. Those who fail to form lasting relationships may feel isolated and alone.
    • 7. Generativity vs. stagnation is the second stage of adulthood and happens between the ages of 25-64. During this time, people are normally settled in their life and know what is important to them. A person is either making progress in their career or treading lightly in their career and unsure about if this is what they want to do for the rest of their working lives. Also during this time, a person is enjoying raising their children and participating in activities that gives them a sense on purpose. If a person is not comfortable with the way their life is progressing, they're usually regretful about the decisions and feel a sense of uselessness.
    • 8.Ego integrity vs. despair. This stage affects the age group of 65 and on. During this time you have reached the last chapter in your life and retirement is approaching or has already taken place. Many people who have achieved what was important to them look back on their lives and feel great accomplishment and a sense of integrity. Conversely, those who had a difficult time during middle adulthood may look back and feel a sense of despair
  13. aptitude test
    a test designed to predict learning capacity for a particular area or particular skills. For example, the SAT is a test designed to predict how well you will perform in college
  14. achievment test
    designed to measure an individual's level of knowledge in a particular area
  15. intelligence quotiant
    An intelligence test is a measure of one's intelligence
Card Set