Patient care management

  1. Maslow's hierarchy of needs
    A model developed by Maslow that expresses human development & progression using developmental stages that prioritize needs.
  2. patient
    the person receiving medical treatment.
  3. physical need
    Any need or activity related to genetics, physiology, or anatomy.
  4. psychological need
    A mental requirement or necessity for fulfillment as a person.
  5. social need
    A need to fit into society and to be accepted by one's peers.
  6. spiritual need
    Aneed for a connection with a higher order.
  7. What are the components that make up an individual?
    • 1. physical needs
    • 2. psychological needs
    • 3. social needs
    • 4. spiritual needs
  8. common types of coping mechanisms (4)
    • 1. denial- the patient does not want to accept the truth of what is occurring.
    • 2. rationalization- patient attempts to rationalize illness or disease.
    • 3. regression- patient regresses to an earlier stage in life.
    • 4. repression- patient repressesthoughts and feelings about illness or disease.
  9. What are the three accepted definitions of death?
    • 1. Cardiac death-the loss of cardiac and respiratory function.
    • 2. higher brain death- the loss of higher brain function, but the lower brain stem continues to provide respiration, B.P., and heartbeat without the assistance of a respirator.
    • 3. whole brain death- the loss of all functions of the entire brain.
  10. what are the five stages of grief?
    • 1. denial
    • 2. anger
    • 3. bargaining
    • 4. depression
    • 5. acceptance
  11. general categories of causes of death
    • accidental- can be caused by nature, motor vehicles, or homicides.
    • terminal-patient suffers from a disease that is incurable.
    • prolonged(chronic)-lasts longer than 4-6 weeks.
    • sudden- occurs without warning.
  12. Which procedures are intended to provide the patient with symptom relief but do not cure the disease?
    palliative procedures
  13. Which procedures are used to treat or manage a disease?
    Therapeutic procedures
  14. Euthanasia
    • from the Greek- "good death"
    • American-"easy death"or "painless inducement of quick death".
  15. "easy death" has two categories, they are?
    • 1.passive euthanasia- the physician does nothing to preserve life.
    • euthanasia- requires actions that speed the process of dying
  16. Active euthanasia also breaks down into two more categories, they are:
    • 1. voluntary euthanasia:the patient initiates facilitation of his death.
    • 2. involuntary euthanasia:the patients autonomoius nrights are violated.
  17. The Patient Bill of Rights does what for the patient?
    Allows the patients the right to refuse treatment.
  18. Advance directives
    • Legal documents used to speak for the patient in the event that they cannot make decisions for themselves.
    • (living will or a power of attorney).
  19. The developmental stages according to Maslow are:
    • 1. physiological needs- basic needs such as water, oxygen, food.
    • 2. safety needs- these refer to the perception on the part of the individual that his/her environment is safe.
    • 3. love & belonging needs- to be known and cared for as an individual and to care for another.
    • 4. esteem needs- refers to a positive evaluation of oneself and others.
    • 5. self-actualization- the need to fulfill what one believes is one's purpose.
Card Set
Patient care management
chapter 3