1. How many countries are UN members?
    193 (all internationally recognised sovereign states except the Vatican City).
  2. Which UN member state joined in 2011?
    South Sudan, which seceeded from Sudan on 9th July and joined the UN on 14th July.
  3. How many organs does the UN have?
    6: The security council, the general assembly, the Economic and social council, the secretariat, the international court of justice, and the inactive Trusteeship council.
  4. Who are the five permanent members of the security council?
    UK, China, France, Russia, USA.
  5. Which UN entity can make binding decisions that member states have agreed to carry out?
    The security council.
  6. Which are the current non-permanent members of the Security council?
    Gabon, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Brazil, Colombia, Germany, India, Lebanon, Portugal, Nigeria, South Africa.
  7. Where are the tasks for a peace-keeping mission usually defined?
    In the applicable peace treaty which the UN has been asked to help enforce.
  8. What are the steps involved in establishing a peace-keeping mission?
    • 1) Selecting senior leadership team
    • 2) Seek support from member states (UN has no standing force or supplies, so must form coalitions for every task undertaken).
    • 3) Put together resources required.
    • 4) Negotiate the exact size and strength of the force with the government of the affected territory.
    • 5) Develop and approve the rules of engagement giving specific details of the mandate and scope of the mission. (e.g. are peacekeepers armed, when may they use force).
  9. What functions do peace-keeping missions usually perform?
    • 1) confidence-building measures
    • 2) power-sharing arrangements
    • 3) electoral support
    • 4) strengthening the rule of law
    • 5) economic and social development
  10. In which countries were new peace-keeping operations initiated in 2011?
    South Sudan, Sudan, Libya
  11. In which countries are there currently active UN peace-keeping missions?
    Western Sahara, Liberia, Cote d'Ivoire, Sudan, Congo, South Sudan, Libya, Haiti, Kashmir, Cyprus, East Timor, Afghanistan. Middle East, Golan Heights, Kosovo, Lebanon.
  12. How many active peace-keeping missions are there?
  13. Key facts in the Western Sahara conflict
    • Former Spanish territory
    • Disputed right to govern by Morocco and Mauritania
    • UN protect right to self-determination by Sahrawi people.
    • Promised referendum yet to take place.
    • Protests by Sahrawi (Gdiem Izik) claimed by some to have played role in kicking off Arab Spring.
  14. Who was awarded the Nobel Peace prize in 2011 and why?
    • 1) Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (first female democratically elected African president in Liberia)
    • 2) Leymah Gbowee (Women of Liberia Mass Action for Peace)
    • 3) Tarwakel Karman (Public face of 2011 Yemeni uprising)
  15. What was the cause of the 2010-2011 crisis in Cote d'Ivoire?
    Contested election results: Quattara was first declared winner but the constitutional court then named the incumbent Gbagbo victor. Quattara regained force of the country by military means and Gbagbo was arrested. The UN did not consider Gbagbo president and worked to protect Quattara and Ivorian cititzens. Forces on both sides have been indited for crimes against humanity.
  16. What Sudan-related treaty was signed in June 2011?
    The Darfur or Doha agreement.
Card Set